Introduction of Agarwood

Introduction of Agarwood

A Gem in the Rough — Agarwood

A Gem in the Rough — Agarwood

Aquilaria malaccensis is a species of plant in the Thymelaeceae family found primarily in South East Asia, such as Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar, Indonesia, China and Malaysia. It is recognized in many names, namely Agarwood, Jinkoh, Aloeswood, Gaharu, Eaglewood, and OUD. The term Agarwood, although widely used to refer to the members of the Aquilaria genus, more specifically refers to the resinous heartwood from the Aquilaria trees.

Chronicle

Reputed to be nature’s alchemy taking form, Agarwood has been lauded since the dawn of time as a gem in the rough; for religious affair, fragrance and medical treatment.
For many centuries, it is the most sought-after aromatic wood, for the multidimensional uses of Agarwood range from traditional, cultural to religious offerings; it is central to Buddhist rituals, highly revered within traditional medicine for its holistic effects, and it’s lasting, musky scent considered a luxurious cultural touchstone, used widely in Western homes as body oils, fragrance and the likes.
At a glance, the “Wood of the Gods” has at least a 3,000-year history, recorded in many ancient literatures and some of the earliest civilizations in Egypt, Middle East and East Asia. In China, Agarwood was first dated in the Miscellaneous Records of Famous Physicians (502-566 A.D.) as a top-grade wood and herb, and saw rapid development across the Tang and Five dynasties.
Today, the old saying originating from the Ming Dynasty that goes - “an inch of Agarwood is worth an inch of gold” no longer holds true. Instead, for its rarity, luxury, opulence, and exclusivity, Agarwood is now priced up to thrice as costly as gold, rendering it one of world’s most coveted commodities.

Habitat

Agarwood, a Semi-Parasite

Agarwood trees can be classified as semi-parasitic plants, for they have thousands and millions of suction cups lined up principally at root tips. These suction cups would adhere to other plants for the uptake of water and nutrients from the soil; they mainly thrive from surrounding’s elements.

Growing Conditions

Agarwood trees are slow-growing plants with maturing process of up to several decades. The Growth rate and degree of success of its cultivation of the fragrant wood are immensely dependent of soil, topography, climate, and proper handling.

Climate

Agarwood trees are found naturally in tropical forests, and are very sensitive to climate. Temperatures below 10 °C may engender their growth to remain dormant, and at subzero temperatures young Aquilaria saplings begin to wither and eventually die-off. Hence Agarwood trees are preferably cultivated at regions with an all-year tropical climate and avoiding regions susceptible to natural disasters such as typhoon.

Soil

Fertile soil alone may not be sufficient to cater to growing demands of Agarwood. The ideal foundation for cultivating Agarwood trees are soil that is enriched with symmetry micronutrients; stimulating direct absorption by Agarwood trees, thereby accelerate the maturity process.

Topography

Sun-loving Agarwood tree requires an adequate amount of sunlight for photosynthesis, essential for facilitating growth rates. A deep body of water is fatal to Agarwood tree; roots submerging in water lead to decay, a gradual withering process.

Host Plants

Due to the semi-parasitic nature of Agarwood trees; it entails a constant necessity of host plants.

A Protected and Endangered Species

A Protected and Endangered Species

Since the year of 1995, Agarwood-producing species is listed as a potentially threatened species of flora by the Convention of International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES), due to the heavy decline of its natural population.

en_USEnglish
zh_CNChinese en_USEnglish

沉香简介

Introduction of Agarwood

自然界中的珍宝—沉香木

A Gem in the Rough — Agarwood

Aquilaria malaccensis是属于Thymelaeceae系中的其中一种植物;普遍上生长于越南、柬埔寨、缅甸、印度尼西亚、中国和马来西亚等地区,主要属于东南亚地区的沉香品种。 此类植物名称众多,在英译里即有Agarwood,Jinkoh,Aloeswood,Gaharu,Eaglewood 或OUD等称号。而‘沉香’,虽然广泛用于称作Aquilaria Genus的植物品种,更为贴切的是指在该树木(沉香木)里所具有的油脂。

沉香纪史

自古以来,沉香被称为植物界中的珍宝;经由自然界微妙形式下自然形成,不但在宗教事务上广泛使用,也作为香水制作无可或缺的精华原料、更用于医疗。
数百年以来,沉香以拥有广泛使用范围(即从传统文化中至宗教产品)逐渐成为人们最受欢迎的芳香木材。 沉香的存在不仅肃立于佛教仪式的核心,在传统中医学上显著的整体成效更受到高度重视。它持久性的独特麝香气味被认为是一种奢侈的香料检验标准,在西方地国家广泛用于涂抹身体的精油、香精等。
一瞥间,拥有“神之木”荣誉之称的沉香已经超过3000年的历史了。沉香的存在皆记载于古埃及、中东地区和东亚区的许多古代史学及文学和一些古文明中。 在中国,沉香木更被人们视为高档木材和药草类并且记载到“本草纲目”中。
于今,源于明朝“一寸沉香一寸金”的说法已不复存在。相反的,凭着沉香的稀有性、奢华、富裕与独家专属的性质,已促使沉香的价格超越与黄金的等值,更胜于三倍之多,为世界上最令人垂涎的商品之一。

沉香原生态

沉香 --- 半寄生植物

沉香树可以归类为半寄生植物,因为它具有成千上万的吸盘排列于根尖处,用于粘附在其他植物上以吸收成长中所需的养分和水分。尽管沉香树能和其他树木一样从土壤中吸收养分,但其主要营养来源则取自于周围环境。

成长条件

沉香树是属于生长缓慢的植物,成长过程长达数十年。一般上,沉香木的成长速度与成功栽种率取决于土壤、地形、气候与妥善呵护的因素。

气候

沉香树在自然界里适合生长在热带雨林地带,对周围的气候异常敏感。 一般10摄氏以下的温度可导致它们的生长停滞,而在零度以下的温度中,幼嫩的Aquilaria树苗则将枯萎。 因此,相较之下,沉香树更适合种植在全年处于热带气候且气候温和,并且免受于自然灾害,例如台风等的地区。

土质

沉香树是属于芳香植物之一,对于类似植物来说单是肥沃的土壤并不足以满足它们的生长过程。培植沉香树的最佳基本土质是土壤中必须含有适量、比例适中的营养元素, 以确保沉香树可以直接吸收, 使其成熟过程加速。

地质

沉香树最不可或缺的就是充足的阳光以便进行光合作用,以加速其树身的成长过程。此外,沼泽或长期潮湿的土地都是沉香树最避忌的生长环境,长期侵泡在水中的树根将会腐烂,既而导致其树身枯萎。因此合适的地质无非都是种植沉香树最为至要的因素之一。

寄主植物

本属于半寄生植物的沉香树,在生长过程中主要都依靠周遭的植物来维持它们的成长;而依赖性过高的沉香树为了满足它们半寄生所需的充足养分,一般上都会随着时间的流逝不断的改变其所依附的植物。

沉香 — 受保护和濒危的物种

A Protected and Endangered Species

在自然生态里,沉香树的生存几率已逐渐面临濒危;为此自1995年起,国际濒危野生动植物贸易公约(CITES)已将沉香树归纳为受保护的濒临绝种的植物品种之一。

zh_CNChinese
en_USEnglish zh_CNChinese